Monday, 13 July 2015 17:41

Profile of New Service Chiefs Appointed by President Buhari

Rate this item
(0 votes)

Following the sack of the previous service chiefs earlier today, President Muhammadu has announced the appointment of new Service chiefs and National Security Adviser, NSA. Below is a comprehensive profile of each of the new appointees who will serve in acting capacity until approved by the senate.


Major-General T.Y. Buratai - Chief of Army Staff


Major General TY Buratai hails from Borno State. He was the Force Commander of the Multi-National Joint Task Force (MNJTF) before his appointment. He also served as the Director at the Defence Headquarters, Abuja before as well as the Commandant of the Nigerian Army School of Infantry. He sometimes served as the Brigade Commander at 2 Brigade, Nigerian Army as well as Commander, Joint Task Force, Operation PULO SHIELD.


Major-General Babagana Monguno (rtd.) – National Security Adviser


He was the Commander, Nigerian Army Training and Doctrine Command (TRADOC) before his retirement from active service. He also held several command and staff appointments including Commander, Guards Brigade, Deputy Commandant, National Defence College, Chief of Defence Intelligence, Chief of Defence Logistics.


Major-General Abayomi Gabriel Olonishakin (N/6901) – Chief of Defence Staff;


The newChief of Defence Staff hails from Ekiti State. Until his appointment as Chief of Defence Staff, he served as the Head of the Nigerian Army Training and Doctrine Command in Minna, Niger State.


Rear Admiral Ibok-Ete Ekwe Ibas – Chief of Naval Staff


The new Chief of Naval Staff hails from Cross River State. He enlisted into the Nigerian Defence Academy in 1979 and was commissioned as a Sub-Lieutenant in 1983. Until his appointment today, he had served in the following capacities: Naval Provost Marshal, Chief Staff Officer, Naval Training Command, Chief of Administration, Naval Headquarters, Flag Officer Commanding Western Naval Command and Chief of Logistics, Naval Headquarters. His last appointment was as the Chief Executive Officer of Navy Holdings Limited.


Air Vice Marshal Sadique Abubakar (NAF/1433)  – Chief of Air Staff


Hails from Bauchi State. His previous appointments include: Chief of Standards and Evaluation, NAF Headquarters; Chief of Defence Communications and Air Officer Commanding, NAF Training Command. Until his new appointment today as Chief of Air Staff, he was the Chief of Administration, NAF Headquarters.


Air Vice Marshal Monday Riku Morgan – Chief of Defence Intelligence


Hails from Benue State. He was commissioned into the Nigerian Air Force as a Pilot Officer in June, 1982. His previous appointments include Air Officer Commanding, NAF Logistics Command.

website maintenance and social media management
Do you need someone to manage the website and social media channels for your business/organization on daily basis?

Read 13953 times